South West Wicklow Heritage Trail

80km / 50 miles / Full Day
The county of Wicklow is naturally divided by the granite expanse of the Wicklow Mountains, the largest continuous
upland region in Ireland which occupies much of the centre of the county. West of the mountains, owing in part to its topography and remoteness, there survives a highly scenic natural landscape which contains a wealth of archaeological and historical sites, towns and villages.  Using Baltinglass as the central point, two heritage trails have been developed to the north and to the south of the town as suggested driving and/or cycling routes to explore this area.

For South West Wicklow highlights include Rathgall Hillfort, Aghowle Medieval Church, Baltinglass Cistercian
Abbey, the Coolattin Estate, The walks and biodiversity of Tomnafinogue Woods Special Area of Conservation (SAC) as
well as the villages of Shillelagh, Carnew, Tinahely and Kiltegan.

If you enjoyed this guide pick up the West Wicklow Heritage Trail and the Blessington Lakeside Heritage Trail and continue
exploring West Wicklow.

For more about Our Wicklow Heritage visit

Trail Map

Read More
Amenities not found.